100 Days of Happiness: Balancing familiarity and novelty

[TLDR: This summer is amazing because I get to take on an entirely new industry through my internship at Microsoft while keeping good ol’ Mount Rainier (and all of my old friends) close by. Cheers to bridging the fun and familiar with experiences to grow – how often do we get to experience all of this at once]

6/24/17 – I love this summer – I mean, I remember 9 months ago when I decided that I needed to do something important with my time.  I always applied to so many internships and jobs, but nothing ever panned out until a few months ago when Microsoft decided to take the chance on this little public health major – plot twist, I convinced them that I was worth keeping around and just finished the second week of my internship (and they are committed to helping me learn the lay of the land of a tech company, but still be a student intern who is still trying to find mentors and role models).

I never thought that the pieces of my life would fit together in such a beautiful way (I love my major, internship, and city, and I get to share all of this with my best friends) especially because I spent the first 2 years of college falling apart and the rest of my time putting myself back together in a more authentic way. I saw one of my high school friends today, and it was confirmation that we all project perfect personas of ourselves on social media but there’s a lot more going on behind the scenes. And I am definitely guilty of this too – I’ve been putting up perfectly edited, brightened, and saturated photos on social media and only hit the highlights even though I struggled to believe in myself and the things I could create. I struggled to remember that I was worthy of love and relationships that elevated me and opportunities to grow, but I’m starting to recognize that these are things that I will keep fighting for. But getting the opportunity to work at Microsoft this summer is confirmation that things are headed in the right direction, and I’m on my way to finding a fulfilling career that makes me want to jump out of bed in the morning. And I’m also on my way to finding people who are worth my time and will listen to me share my story – I’m smiling more than ever, jamming out to Drake to Frank Ocean and listening to wistful love songs, and learning to celebrate my success with others and have genuinely difficult but important conversations. It’s important to remember that to have a friend, you have to be a friend and that you shouldn’t surround yourself with people who need to dim your light to shine brighter. So, I will try to remember that it’s OK to drop toxic relationships and make time for people who are worth it.

I’m so glad that I got to reconnect to old and new friends because I’m proud to know them, and I hope that we can keep building each other up. This 80-degree weather is one of many signs that summer in Seattle is here to stay, and I’m loving every single moment that’s filled with belly-busting giggles as well extremely vulnerable conversations – get you some friends who can do both ❤

Leave a Reply

